top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKexin Zhang

Final Reflection Blog

PART ONE: TWO Examples of Transformative Learning


One of the things I’ve learned during the course is how to effectively read an article. In this course, we’re assigned an article to read every week, but not just to read it. We need to analyze the article from the author, title, introduction, and other aspects to deeply understand it. It’s an effective strategy to develop reading habits to help understand the article. The strategy is essential since it develops a habit to effectively read and comprehend an article suitable for any type of article. Due to this effective strategy, I will try to know who the author is and what the title attempts to explain when I read an article.






Another thing I’ve learned during this course is about the social construction of gender values. As Kilbourne said in the video, social media has influenced people’s definition of female beauty negatively. Traditionally, females’ gender role has been to be gentle, kind, and considerate. Besides, their beauty is defined by white skin and slim figures. However, the different Disney films genres show us different female gender roles; for example, Rey in Star War represents an independent, brave, and wit girl, and Black Widow in Avengers represents her agility and strength. Those different female characters contribute a more diverse female value. I reckon that it’s essential to know the possibility of female gender roles that females could be gentle, kind, and considerate and could be substantial, brave, and independent. Such a different understanding of gender value helps me better realize that everything has many conveniences, and we should not prescribe it in one form.



PART TWO: Taking Stock --- TWO Problems & A Plan for the Future




Throughout the course, I reckon I still have writing problems that I’m not confident of my writing accuracy. After writing a paragraph, I directly use Grammarly to check and correct my grammar issue but failed to see clearly where I made mistakes. Therefore, there are always mistakes in my writing, so I decided to re-read my paragraph before using Grammarly to check and correct the wrong grammar, which is an effective and useful way to help increase the confidence of writing accuracy.





Another issue of mine is the multimedia issue. This course involves many assignments that require multimedia, for example, editing audio and creating the website. I reckon I'm not very good at multimedia, especially when creating blogs on wix. I reckon that wix is a great website that can be used to reflect the results of a course and supplement one's resume with information. We will certainly have to submit resumes to various companies in the future, and some companies will ask you to choose to submit your website. Therefore, I reckon making a website of my own can make my resume more outstanding.

39 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 Comments


lgcarri1
Mar 15, 2021

Hello Kexin! I, too, had trouble creating a website and using technology in general. But it was cool learning how to new things that can benefit me in the future. With that said, I love your website! I was able to see your process from when we gave each other peer reviews and now that you submitted it, it looks amazing! I enjoyed working with you this quarter. I wish you luck on finals and your classes for next quarter :)

Like

Baiyu Wang
Baiyu Wang
Mar 15, 2021

Hello Kexin! I also realized that WR39A include a lot of assignment that need multimedia, which was also a challenge for me. I have never been in touch with Wix before, so I’ve learned from scratch for whether web page design or typesetting. We all need to continue to work hard on the use and practice of Wix, because it is really helpful for our future study. Thank you for editing an excellent audio for our project in podcast. It's great to work with you.

Like

Kai Wen
Kai Wen
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Kexin, I can't agree with you more that reading in an effective way helps us understand the text better and learn better. The tasks we did through Connect sure helped us a lot on what to look at and what to reflect upon. Creating a website is also a brand new experience for me, but we all did a good job in the end and I'm sure we will do better in the future!

Like

Ruihan Wang
Ruihan Wang
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Kexin!

I also have a problem with directly using Grammarly by copy and paste my essay, which is not beneficial for us to modify the essay by ourselves. The next time we write an article, many grammar errors still exist, and nothing gets improved. Thus, I totally agree with your decision to re-read the paragraph before using Grammarly. Besides, finishing assignments in multimedia is true quite a hard task. Thus, by learning and practicing making websites from this course, I reckon you have already been a good website maker. By the way, thanks for being an editor for the podcast! I hope you will get a good grade for all your classes this quarter. 😘

Like

Jiayi Chen
Jiayi Chen
Mar 14, 2021

Hi Kexin, I appreciate your point that Disney films contribute to depicting diverse women character revealing various values, which helps me to have a better understanding about gender roles. Also, as you mentioned, this course provides us with lots of opportunities to explore the use multimedias. I didn't get in touch those before, but I learnt a lot in the process of finishing assignments and I am happy to develop these new skills. Anyway, hope you have a great time in the rest quarters!

Like
bottom of page