top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKexin Zhang

Learning Makes One Progress

Peer review:

“Understand the importance of peer review to the composing process and develop effective peer review skills.”




I've completed many different assignments in the last two weeks, for example, presentation, writing, annotation, and portfolio. Those assignments indeed improve my ability in writing in three ways. Firstly, doing peer review on "Online presentation" and "Week one exploratory writing" helps me know my classmates this quarter. Peer review could let me learn other's thoughts about the same thing. For example, in peer review, I realize that construction and sex could also be examples of social constructions while I only come up with culture. Besides, by doing peer review and seeing other students' replies, I learn that a useful peer review is to find an interesting idea in the post and then express your thought about this idea with a quote from his/her perspective. Here is my reply to Jialin Mei.



Annotation:

“Practice metacognitive reading of a variety of texts, both public discourse and academic discourse.”


In the assignment "Close Reading Practice," the circle it provides helps me learn to engage in reading. Firstly, we should know who the author is and start with predicting the text's central idea. Moreover, reading with the purpose and finding the main idea. Besides, making a connection about in the real-life and give some personal experience about the topic. Also, when confused about an idea, we could ask a question. Moreover, after finishing reading the whole text, a summary could be made to understand the text's central thesis. In the assignment of "Close Reading Practice, I follow the rules that the circle gave me, and I know the text is mainly talking about the Disney standard beauty and gender role. This annotation can help us understand the text effectively. Besides, annotating a lecture is another way for annotation. In this way, we can effectively clear the structure and main idea of this lecture. Here is the way to annotate a text or essay.



Introspection

“Understand the importance of reflection as part of the learning process and illustrate your understanding through descriptive and detailed reflective writing.”


After completing the lecture annotation "Kill_Us_softly_4" and "Close Reading Practice," the assignment "Week two exploratory wiring" requires me to integrate those two sources and make the connection about the advertisements I saw or character on Disney film that I know. This assignment is a reflection since I need to integrate what I've learned and seen into a few big points and analyze them, which reflects my second understanding of the article and enables me to better relate to the reality of life. Here is one part of my reflection on "Kill_Us_softly_4".



23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Ruihan Wang
Ruihan Wang
Jan 16, 2021

Hi Jessie!

You made a very detailed and specific summary of what you learned in the last two weeks. Similarly, from your reflection, I begin to think about did I also learned these skills. However, I hadn't thought about the peer review's advantages, and I will think about it later.

Like

2698842262
Jan 16, 2021

Hi Kexin! Your reflection towards past 2 weeks is really insightful and specific! I also find that the circle in the assignment Close Reading is helpful! (By the way, thanks for commenting my first exploratory writing!) Also, I really like the style of calligraphy that use at the very top of your (this) website!!

Like
bottom of page