top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKexin Zhang

Self-Assessment: Where am I'm Starting

My name is Kexin Zhang, and I’m a sophomore student majored in Data Science. If using one word to describe me, I reckon is sweet since I have a sweet tooth. I love every food which is sweet, for example, ice cream, milk tea, cakes, and so on. Also, I’m fond of music, so I took the piano class for six years.





My last writing course is AE 20C which I took in the 2020 Spring quarter. It focused on integrating sources and rhetorical analysis. In that course, I learned how to use annotated bibliography to analyze articles and integrate the sources to write my research paper. Moreover, the professor in the AE 20C course taught me how to use rhetorical analysis to analyze a song by focusing on logos, ethos, and pathos. I reckon that I was a writer and communicator when I’m in the Writing course since my major has a few writing assignments.




My biggest weakness is doing group working since I will rely on others, which leads an awful work. When I take AE 20B course, I had an assignment to ask each group to outline, summarizing, and integrating an article. Since I reckon that my group mates will complete the assignment, I didn’t start working on it until the due day. However, all my group members started the assignment on the due day, which left us scrambling, but my adept area is integrating sources. In AE 20B and AE 20C, the professors taught me how to do annotated bibliography and applied it to integrating sources. Since I’ve done a lot of practice in integrating sources, I’m very good at integrating sources.




I consider I’m not a good grammar person, so I didn’t finish well in the assignment “Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect”, and I did many mistakes in using punctuation correctly, but the result is better than what I thought.





The syllabus shows the main goal in this quarter which is writing and rhetoric Disney and the social construction of gender, and some rules for writing courses like adding, dropping, failing the course. To do well in WR 39A, preparing for the reading, spending 14 hours a week, submitting assignments early, and asking help if needed. There are five parts of course work in this quarter including “Exploratory Writing”, “Podcast/Microsite project”, “Narrative”, “Reflection Blogs”, and “Website Portfolio”.


Course objectives show that practicing metacognitive reading will develop our reading habits and understand the importance of having a process when composing a text. Moreover, this course will develop our peer review skills, which could help us be effective collaborators. Besides, it will help us develop our communication skills through many media.


Seven requirements, Attendance, Conference with the teacher, complete work on time, meet the minimum requirements on assignments, be collaborative, sustain effort and investor on each draft, and proofread, is required to earn a B grade. If not completing all those seven requirements, the grade will be lower than B. If the work is in high equality, the grade will greater than B.

21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


Kai Wen
Kai Wen
18 de jan. de 2021

It's resonating to see you write about your story of "not working until the due day." Procrastination is what we really need to fight against with.

Curtir
bottom of page